Vermont Police Academy Certification and Training Program
Becoming a Certified Police Officer in Vermont
Are you interested in becoming a Police Officer in Vermont? We recommend you begin exploring this option by visiting a police department you are interested in working for. Talk with them about opportunities. Go on a ride-along. If you decide this is a career you would like to pursue, apply with a department and they may send you to the Vermont Police Academy to take the Written Entrance Exam, the MMPI (psychological inventory), and possibly the PT or Physical Testing (depending on which type of certification you wish to pursue and department policy). There are two types of certification in Vermont: full-time and part-time certification. Having a college degree is strongly encouraged by many agencies.
To be a Law Enforcement Officer in the State of Vermont, you must be certified by the Criminal Justice Training Council. To become certified, you must participate in Entrance Testing and upon passing, attend the Full-Time Basic Academy Training Program or the Part-Time Academy Program. Full-time and part-time certified officers differ in their initial training and in the amount of hours they are allowed to work, detailed in the Council’s Rules and in Vermont’s Statutes. If you are already certified as an officer in another state and want to work in Vermont, you may be interested in learning more about our Waiver Process.
To maintain certification, full-time officers must have a minimum of 25 hours of in-service training each year, which includes firearms re-qualification under the supervision of a Council-certified firearms instructor, first aid training (unless currently certified in first aid) and biennial Council-certified domestic violence training.
Courses are added regularly, so check back often.
Browse courses by subject area:
Questions or Problems? Please email Cindy Taylor-Patch.
Things you should know:
To register for any in-service course with the VT Police Academy, a In-service Training Application is required. Download the Application (Microsoft® Word) and fax it to (802) 483-2343. You can also email the completed form to our Registrar.
Registrations are accepted on a first come, first served basis unless otherwise noted.
We require a minimum number of registrants to hold a course. If the minimum number is not reached within 15 days before the course is scheduled to begin, we will be forced to cancel. Whenever practical, we will attempt to inform you of cancellations by telephone (typically through your employing agency) or by email.
Note: If you cannot attend a class, you must notify the Academy 14 days prior to the start of the class. We must charge the course fee listed if 14 days notice is not given. Substitutes may be sent to replace the original registrant as long as the substitute also meets any course pre-requisites.
All courses are held at the VT Police Academy, Pittsford, VT unless otherwise noted. Click here for directions.
Please read the Fee Schedule (effective July 1, 2010 through December 31, 2012).
Please read the new Fee Schedule (effective December 31, 2012).
Note: Errata and misprints in pricing, dates, and locations are not binding. The Council reserves the right to correct, change, and cancel courses without penalty. Training Talk is a publication of the staff of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council (State of Vermont) which reserves all rights and privileges with regards to printing, publication, and distribution.
Comments, concerns, or suggestions may be directed to Executive Director Richard Gauthier.