Motor Vehicle & Highway Safety Training

Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

Coordinator: Sara Couture

Length of course: 16 hours
Course hours: 0800 - 1600
Dates and Locations:  

  • September 29-30 @ Colchester PD
  • December 15-16 @ VPA                                                                                                           

Tuition:  Free

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description:

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal.


Automated License Plate Reader Certification

Coordinator:  Sara Couture

Length of Course:  2 hours

Date/Location/Time:                                                                                                                                                

December 8, 2015 @ the VPA/1000-1200 hours (Post-Basic, limited seating)

Tuition:  Free

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

Per Vermont legislation, all law enforcement officers must be certified through the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council to utilize Automated License Plate Readers while on duty.  This class satisfies that Vermont requirement.  PLEASE NOTE:  All attendees must complete the End User Agreement prior to obtaining  certification.


Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level I

Coordinator: Sara Couture

Length of course: 8 hours
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Date: September 21, 2015

Location: Vermont Police Academy
Tuition: Commuting $19.00 includes materials and lunch.  If you are taking levels 1 & 2 and want to stay overnight - $187.00 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging (3 nights, 4 days). 

Registration: Open to any police officer who has a working knowledge of Title 23 and experience in motor vehicle stops.  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

Course Overview:

  1. Safety around commercial vehicles during the stop
  2. Commercial Driver’s Licenses and Canadian CDL familiarization
  3. International Fuel Tax Agreement
  4. Apportioned registrations
  5. Commercial Vehicle regulations
  6. Inspection Manual
  7. Accident Protocol

Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level II - Size & Weights

Coordinator:   Sara Couture

Length of course: 24 hours
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Date:  September 22-24, 2015

Location: Vermont Police Academy
Tuition: Commuting - $53.50 includes materials and lunch.  Overnight - $130.50 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging.  If you are taking levels 1 & 2 and want to stay overnight - $187.00 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging (3 nights, 4 days). 

Registration: Open to officers who have at least 3 years of motor vehicle experience.  MUST have completed Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level I or attended the CMV Awareness/Size & Weights Truck School (40-hour) training that we have hosted in the past.  Contact the Vermont Police Academy at (802) 483-6228 for more information.  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

Course Overview:

  1. Commercial vehicle size enforcement
  2. Commercial vehicle weight enforcement
  3. Oversize permits
  4. DMV Rule 25
  5. Practical exercise/evaluation

 


Crash Investigation for Part-Time Officers - Basic Level

Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 16 hours
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Date: October 27-28, 2015
Location: Vermont Police Academy

Tuition: $49.00 Commuting. $87.50 Overnight

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

This fundamental training course will provide the new part-time officer with a familiarization of accident/crash reporting requirements and form completion. A mock scene will be utilized to demonstrate the measurement and diagramming techniques. Additional scene management will emphasize traffic control, preservation of evidence and witness identification.

 


DMT Supervisor Course

Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 2 hours
Tuition: None

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Date/Time/Location:

  • October 8, 2015 0900-1100 hours  - AM and PM COURSES ARE FULL, Standby list created                            
  • October 8, 2015 1300-1500 hours - AM and PM COURSES ARE FULL, Standby list created

Both classes will be held at the Vermont State Forensics Lab in Waterbury, VT.

Officers who will be acting as DMT Supervisors must take this course to perform normal and routine maintenance on this machine.  Supervisors also offer support to DMT operators.  Those who have been DataMaster Supervisors for the old machines are still required to attend this course.

 


DUI Enforcement Certification

This course is offered 4 to 5 times each year depending on need.  Two will be post-basic and therefore seating will have limited seating. 
 
Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 40 hours (5 days)
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Dates:

  • October 12-16, 2015 0800-1630 hours
  • November 30-December 4 - Post Basic Limited seating

 

Location: Vermont Police Academy
 

Tuition: None, if initial training, includes accommodations and lunch.
Audits - Commute $127.00; Overnight $281.00.

Registration: Fax our in-service training application (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar.

Minimum number to hold in class: 15
Maximum number in class: 30

* This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DataMaster Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJTC certified instructors, instructors from the Department of Health, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


IPTM Traffic Crash Reconstruction

Coordinator:  Sara Couture

Length of Course:  80 hours (2 weeks, Monday-Friday)

Course Hours:  0830-1630 hours

Dates and Location:  May 9-20, 2016 at the Vermont Police Academy

Tuition:  

  • 15 students- $1223.00 (commute), $1571.00 (overnight)                                                                               
  • 20 students- $956.00 (commute), $1304.00 (overnight)                                                                                                          
  • 28   students- $728.00, (commute) $1076.00 (overnight)

Pre-requisite:  Must be full-time certified, having taken the Basic Academy Crash Investigation course, have field experience, and a high aptitude and interest in collision investigation.

Registration:  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

THIRD IN A SERIES OF THREE COURSES-Because of the highly technical subject matter, it is mandatory for you to have successfully completed IPTM’s Advanced Traffic Crash Investigation (80 hours) course or its equivalent.

 Traffic Crash Reconstruction builds upon IPTM’s Advanced Traffic Crash Investigation course by assisting you further in understanding vehicle dynamics.  You will take part in a more intense study of time/distance calculations, two-dimensional momentum and impact speed calculations using momentum equations. 

Topics include:
•  Derivation and origin of the commonly used speed formulas
•  Speed of vehicles at impact using conservation of linear momentum
•  Behavior of vehicles in a collision using Newton’s three laws of motion
•  Discussions of commercial vehicle and motorcycle dynamics in collisions
•  The determination of direction of travel, initial contact and position of vehicles on the roadway

This course includes extensive project work and controlled vehicle experiments to give you first hand experience in crash reconstruction.  Each student will be required to diagram and analyze three different crash scenarios as well as complete vector sum analysis of each.

Note:  Early application for this course is encouraged.  Prior to the start of the course, study materials in basic mathematics and algebra will be sent to you.  Please review these materials before coming to class.  Please click here to print out the required questionnaire and return it with your registration form.

 


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

This course is offered regionally about 4 times each year and twice at the Academy (post-basic, limited seating).

Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of Course: 8 hours
Course hours: 0800-1600
Date/Location:                                                                       

  • November 25, 2015 at VPA (Post-Basic Limited Seating)

Tuition: None if initial training.  $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $5.50  off campus ( includes materials).

Registration:  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


NHTSA Laser Operator Certification

This course is offered regionally approximately 4 times each year and twice at the Academy (post-basic, limited seating).

Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 8 hours

Course hours: 0800 - 1600

Date/Location:

  • August 28, 2015 at Vergennes PD                                                                                                 
  • December 11, 2015 at VPA (Post-Basic Limited Seating)

 

Tuition: $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch & materials); Cost is $5.50 off campus (includes materials).

Registration:  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

 

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Certification course. This course provides officers training in the setup, testing and operation of any LASER speed measuring device.
  • Participant is urged to bring a Laser device to class.
  • Four hours in classroom.
  • Four hours supervised practical training. (Officers should be in uniform and prepared for traffic enforcement.)

 

 


Supervision of a Specialized Traffic Enforcement Program

Coordinator:  Sara Couture

Length of Course: 5 hours
Course hours: 1600 hours-2100 hours
Date & Location: September 17, 2015 @ Rutland City Police Department
Tuition: Commute: $15.50 (dinner is included)
Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course will familiarize the student with the general aspects of coordinating a Traffic Enforcement Program within their agency.

Topics will include:

  • VT Highway Safety issues & priorities
  • Grant procurement & administration
  • Crash data analysis & using it to justify your program
  • State & National programs
  • Role of the traffic supervisor
  • DUI/Sobriety checkpoint law
  • Using the media effectively
  • Principles of traffic enforcement
  • Canine operations & checkpoints

As we in Vermont realize, it is getting increasingly difficult to do "more with less". This course will prepare the student to coordinate local and county-wide initiatives to further our primary highway safety goal of reducing deaths and injuries on our roadways.  An actual sobriety checkpoint will be set up at the end of the lesson so department uniforms MUST be worn to this training.


Traffic Incident Management Systems

Coordinator:  Rutland County Sheriff Department
Length of course: 4 hours
Course hours: 1230-1630
Dates:

  • Saturday, September 19, 2015

Location: Vermont Police Academy

Tuition: Free

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
 

For more than 20 years, the Agency of Transportation, Department of Public Safety, and private sector professionals have worked cooperatively in traffic incident management programs to safely and efficiently clear traffic incidents and incident related debris.  As TIMS programs have matured, we have benefitted from the Federal Highway Administration efforts to collect, document, and distribute good practices necessary for implementing, improving, and expanding the TIMS program concepts.  This TIMS training includes the latest advances in TIMS programs and practices throughout the country.


Vin Verification

Coordinator: Sara Couture

Length of course: 4 hours
Course hours: see below

Dates/Times         

  • September 1, 2015  1200-1600 hours
  • November 24, 1230-1630 hours - Post Basic, Seating is Limited

 

Fingerprint Certification is offered in the morning on the same dates and must be registered for separately.

 

Location: Vermont Police Academy

Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $19.50

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA.  The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type.  American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course.  Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.